Ten things I have learned in 10 years of marriage

Ten years of marriage; it’s not exceptional by any stretch of the imagination, and it seems to have gone by in a flash, but over that time we have dealt with so many things; death, illness, disability, retirement and kids just to name a few.

So the first ten years have been a rollercoaster, same as for many folks, but it’s during those years that you actually get to know the person that you’ve metaphorically handcuffed yourself to. This is when you knock the sharp corners off each other. Think of it as a transformation, from a couple of rough diamonds to a pair of beautiful cabochons. Me and Himself might be a carrot short of anything fit for Tiffany’s, but we’ve got the overall shape nailed.

So with the idea of trying to ditch the rollercoaster in favour of a cruise, I’m going to set out what I have figured out so far, as much for my own benefit as anyone else’s. So even if it’s just negative equity keeping you together – here’s my top ten things I’ve learnt in ten years of marriage.

Right and Wrong

Just because you don’t share the same point of view, this doesn’t necessarily mean that either of you are ‘wrong’. There’ll be loads of times when at least one of you is, but it’s not always the case. When it’s an opinion about something, it is possible that both of you can hold different views and both be right at the same time. This is often your ‘get out of jail free’ card after an argument.

Difficult one to get your head around, but its true, which brings me to the next one

You don’t always have to be right, (even when you know you are).

This is hard, especially for me, because I like to be right, even more than this, I hate being wrong. I mean I really hate being wrong, so it goes against the grain letting something go, especially when you know that it’s all going to end in tears; but sometimes you just gotta. Then after all that you have to listen to the aftermath and not say “I told you so”.

I’m pants at that too. Even if I don’t say it, it’s usually written all over my face. It’s not smugness, it’s pragmatism. Keep smiling, through your teeth if you have to.

However…

You aren’t always right, even when you think you are.

Im not always right, there have been occasions when I have goofed up. There I said it. Take a note of the date. None of them come to mind immediately, because Himself is away out fishing, he isn’t here to open up his hurt locker and remind me of all the times I have messed up, but it has happened.

Don’t huff when this is the case, hoick up the big girl pants, admit you were wrong, move on, never refer to it again, but if your partner does, compile your…

Greatest Hits Album

No not music – arguments. After a while, you will notice the same thing cropping up over and over again; then you will develop you own list of favourites to throw out there, just like pulling the pin out of a grenade and throwing it into the fray. We like to call this our Greatest Hits Album. There are some classics that have stood the test of time, that still get a reaction even yet.

By naming them ‘Greatest Hits’ it serves a purpose, because it’s a bit ridiculous really, and if you say something like, “Yeah, sure! Did you dredge that up from your Greatest Hits Album?” it is more difficult to keep a straight face during a real hum-dinger.

Another unwritten rule seems to be – if you laugh, you lose. I don’t like this rule, I can laugh even when I’m still mad, but that all gets a bit psycho, so lets not go there now.

Just because you bought it (apparently) this doesn’t mean it’s yours      WTAF?

Yeah – I can’t get my head round this at all. This seems like utter bullshit to me, but appears to be one of the rules. Stuff bought after the date of the wedding belongs to both parties unless its fishing gear, in which case I don’t touch it.

Fair enough, I don’t want to touch his stinky maggots, bait, hooks, rigs or the rest, but I wish he’d keep his stinky paws off my chocolate too.

Which brings me to…

You need to start getting sneaky about where you hide the chocolate/cake/biscuits/crisps

Apparently it’s fair game. You buy it, your partner eats it, if you hide it (poorly and they find it) that just ups the anti and adds to the thrill when they find and demolish it. So you’ve got to learn to be sneaky.

Have multiple hiding spots, split your haul up. If you can find a few spots where things can be hidden ‘in plain sight’ even better, because you don’t want to be spotted going back to the same place over and over again.

It’s ok to have murderous thoughts after lights out if your partner snores.

It’s not ok to actually follow though on it. Have ‘fun’ thinking of all the medieval ways you can torture them to death by all means, but limit your action to a well aimed donkey kick ‘in your sleep’ you can be very surprised when they mournfully tell you about it the next morning.

If they start laying it on thick about how sore their leg is and how unfair it is that you woke them up, have a look at the dark circles under your eyes, your guilt will melt away, I promise.

That said, it’s important for a bit of…

Give and Take

At least one of you needs to be able to remove spiders. If this is you – great, if this is your partner, then you need to be good at something else, clean the grill pan, sew on a button, whatever – you are a partnership now, you have rolls.

Talking of rolls…

You may put on weight

Which is entirely unfair and not funny, especially if you weren’t exactly a waif to begin with.

You are in this together

Presumably there was a reason you got hitched beyond their staggering good looks or healthy bank account. Remember what this was, don’t tattoo it to your forehead, but try to remember; this is your buddy, the one who gives you a hug when the rest of those fekkers out there make life miserable, and you do the same for them.

So put the kettle on, make them a cuppa, (carefully) produce a biccie from the hidden stash and tell them how much you love them, then forge on together.

So thats it, the my top ten things I’ve learnt in ten years of marriage, what would you add?

61 comments

  1. Brilliant list! I had to laugh at the hiding of the treats – good to know I’m not the only one! I love the Greatest Hits Album idea. Wish I’d thought of it! The only thing I’d add is to cultivate the Art of Listening to Listen, instead of Listening to Form a Rebuttal. I’s really hard, but often the other person really just needs to feel heard. And Happy Anniversary!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hiding of the treats is most definitely the most important, but I’m liking myself for not including the skill of not listening but looking like you are. I used to listen to absolutely everything – soon learnt! LOL

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I like your write up about “being right.” I also like the notion of adding a “greatest hits” list to take the drama out of the perennial fights couples have. My husband and I have very few greatest hits, but when they come around it sure is annoying! I like the idea of taking the breath out of that particular shout into the wind.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, the trick is to use it first, before it get used on you and you laugh. Thats just annoying lol Especially if you know you are right

      Liked by 1 person

  3. All of these are so very true. I’ve lived with my better half for 19yrs now (married 3- yeah it took us a while) and I’m still learning. The one about not always having to be right is so valuable. I think that’s something I’m only just learning ha!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. This is really sweet. Five and a half years in here and we have hit quite a few of those. We reinforce each other’s habits- good and bad. Also I don’t believe he would ever actuslly cheat bit I do share him with 50 other women. 🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐄🐂🐃

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Have you tried hiding the sweet goodies in a knitting or sewing bag? Or even in his fishing gear?

    If I were married that’s probably the only thing on your list that wouldn’t be a problem. I didn’t buy any chocolate this year before the end of March and I can’t remember the last time I bought sweet biscuits. No, I’ve tried and it was probably in the last century. If we were talking cheese and savoury nibbles, though, it would be a different matter.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m not married, but I’ve been with my dude for close to 7 years. The not having to be right one is THE ACTUAL WORST. We are both the kind of people who have to be right. You can imagine how that goes most days 😂😂😂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Such a candid post about marriage and I love that you ended it by making a cuppa, telling you partner you love them and forging on together. We aren’t perfect and marriage is a partnership. To me the key is to have the deep connection and friendship to weather the bad times and enjoy the good times to the full. Thanks for sharing with us at #MLSTL and have a great week!
    Sue from Sizzling Towards 60 & Beyond

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! Yes, I think that sums everything up very nicely. The PR around marriage is very different to the reality, and I think many of us enter into it unprepared for what day to day partnership actually entails. Funny old world.

      You have a lovely week too x

      Liked by 1 person

  8. “You don’t have to be right even when you know that you are” is so so so true. If people just could remember this and be a little humble there would be way less hurt in marriages. Thanks for sharing! #WanderingWednesday

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah – I could really do with doing this a bit more myself. It’s easy to forget in the heat of the moment.

      Thank you for stopping by 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Omg, yes to wanting to plot his murder because of snoring!!! LOL Such a great list, and all important things for a successful marriage.
    #WanderingWednesdays

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lol! Yes, I used to feel shocked and guilty by how quickly thoughts turned that way until I discovered that it was entirely normal lol!

      Thank you for commenting x

      Like

  10. Ten years has taught you a lot – we hit 35 years a couple of months ago and a lot of the compromises you mention are things we’ve worked out along the way too. The big bonus in our family is that I love salty/fatty treats (potato chips!) and he’s a chocolate person – so we don’t steal each other’s goodies and don’t need secret stashes! Thanks for linking up with us at #MLSTL and I’ve shared this on my SM xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s kind of you thank you 😊 i’d Be lost without my stash sites 😆 as for the rest, the experience is based not so much on years as the mileage 😆😆😆

      Like

  11. Love love love this; your honesty and wisdom combined with humour is priceless. Some good reminders, although I don’t know about sometimes being wrong – me? Surely not 😉 Sharing on Pinterest.

    Liked by 1 person

    • HA haha! Yes I know, it can be hard to ‘fess up sometimes, just do it really, really fast lol

      Thank you for such a beautiful comment x

      Like

  12. Really great list. We’ve been married almost two years now. I think remembering that you are human and sometimes you will annoy the shit out of each other and that’s ok. Communicating with each other is the way to work through problems. Comprising is helpful but it has to work both ways.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Wonderful list! I especially like the ‘Greatest Hits’ and the one about private property. I once had to write ‘reserved’ on some ripen-at-home mangoes (to be fair, it wasn’t the hubby who was poaching it, but the kids)

    Like

    • Yes, my kids are turning out to be a chip off the old block,i’ve Had to hide stuff from them too lol! Otherwise they are just like piranhas

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Hmm, I think I need to show this to my wife… We will be 8 years married this year. One thing I learnt is how to deal with the way we respond differently when there is something to be deciuded/ discussed. I like to go away and think. she likes to get it all out in the open then and there. We haven’t changed but now we know how to maange that!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ah – we’re the same but in reverse, but if you know that, it’s easier to manage
      Good luck going forward 😊

      Like

    • Ha! Yep! You’ll be mid argument about who’s job it is to empty the bin this time, you’ll think – I’m banking that for the album, and then you’ll laugh 😆

      Job done x

      Like

  15. Congratulations on 10 years, we are 11 years this year. Our biggest argument is money, over and over… tonight it was a dig to me about I had emptied the kitchen bin… I smashed a glass washing up, so the glass went in the kitchen bin, then the rubbish bag put outside in the wheelie bin. We argue loads, but always get through it. I think it is important to keep talking and talk about any worries and concerns, to work together and stand together strong. I enjoyed reading this.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. […] I remember it fondly. It had been quite the journey getting to that point, all of us still bear the scars, I wrote about those here 2nd Wife’s Club but we got there, and the wedding itself really was a celebration of joy. I’ve picked up a few tips on the way and wrote about them here Ten Things I’ve Learned in 10 Years of Marriage […]

    Like

Leave a comment