Growing my own fruit and veg

Growing my own

When I started blogging, it was with the intention of writing about my growing my own fruit and veg on the allotment. So I’ve been a bit remiss, in not posting anything much, mostly because I’ve been so busy getting on with it.

The allotment is in full swing now with a a wide range of fruit and veg in various stages of growth.

Planting

Most of the planting was done back in March after the frosts, and since then, though we have had some rain, there has been the most phenomenal run of good weather. I think you would need to go back to 1976 to experience a summer as warm and dry as this one is shaping up to be.

My two outdoor allotment beds. With a slate path between the two
Two outdoor beds, back in spring. still looking quite neat (ish) You can see the potato drills and the strawberry patch.

Up on the plot, I have three beds in total, two out door and one raised bed in the polytunnel. I’ve divided it up into subsections. Where I had potatoes growing last year, now has a very healthy crop of silver skin onions, that are doing really well. Beside them I have a mix of peas and beans that could really do with some support (next job).

Then up from that, I have fruit; rhubarb – which is looking a bit bedraggled this year, raspberries, and three trees, a peach, a plum and a cherry. I started netting all of this off this morning, but ran out of netting, I need to get a lot more.

Close up phot of my potato in flower, white with a yellow centre
My potatoes are in flower, so it won’t be long till I can harvest

In the adjacent bed I have potatoes, and the diplomatically sensitive strawberry patch. There is a bit of an issue over ownership of the strawberry patch. Initially it was between the pheasant and myself, but a third party seems to have come into the mix – judging by the large flat patch in the middle where a ‘large something’ has been lying in the cool shade.

Last year the pheasant stripped the bed of fruit, so I got them netted off early this season.   Last night as I was harvesting the fruit, I found the entry hole, where something had sneaked in under the netting. It could be a fox given the size of the flattened area, though I think this unlikely. Its probably the black cat that I’ve noticed lurking around in the evenings. Either way, beyond lying on top of the plants, whatever it is doesn’t seem to be showing much interest in the fruit, and it’s helping to keep the birds away, so for now – it gets a by ball.

Harvest

I did manage to harvest quite a few strawberries last night, and was feeling kind of smug, but while i was watering the tomatoes in the poly tunnel, the other predators (two boys) managed to demolish the harvest. Who’s smug now?

Anyhow – beyond the strawberries is my experimental area. I have sweetcorn, beans and pumpkin growing, and for the esoteric gardeners among you, you will recognise this as ‘the three sisters planting’.

As I understand it, this is a native American approach, and one that was taught to the Pilgrim Fathers when they were struggling to survive. In the drill you put three seeds together, sweetcorn, bean, and pumpkin. The sweetcorn grows tall without support, the bean is able to grow round it, and the pumpkin uses up the space on the ground, keeping all the roots shaded with it’s large leaves.

Pic of the three sisters planting. One hole with three seeds, corn, bean and pumpkin, here the corn and been have germinated
Sweetcorn and beans, two of the three sisters

I just wanted to see if it worked – so I’m having a go, and so far it seems to be doing ok.

Inside the poly tunnel, I have tomatoes that self seeded from last year’s day of the triffid crop. they are still unruly, but I’m only letting a few plants grow this year rather than giving over the entire bed to tomatoes. Last year was a bit of a bloody nightmare. Read about that here Tomatogedden

I have had absolutely no success with outdoor carrots, it’s the wrong kind of soil. You need sandy loam not wet clay. so this year I am having a go indoors. It’s not sandy, there’s too much organic content to describe it that way, but it’s not clay either, and so far, they seem to be doing ok, I’ve even had to thin them out a bit. But it could be that all the growth is in the tops, with precious little root – time will tell. At least they are high enough that carrot fly hasn’t been a problem.

New crops

The last two spots are newbies for me , I’ve never tried growing cucumber before. I’m sort of praying that they turn out ok and that I’m not going to be tempted into trying to pickle them. I tried pickling my tomatoes last year. The husband is likely to stage an intervention if I stray too close to the vinegar ever again. You can read about that here In a Pickle and here Revenge of the Hell Pickle

Last but not least are my melons. I’ve never grown melons, I don’t know anyone personally that has, so this is a big experiment. All I know is, they are exceptionally thirsty plants, and I’ve grown them the year we have a hosepipe ban, yay! D’oh!

At home in the pocket handkerchief back garden, I am having mixed success. One of my apple trees and the older cherry tree are very unhappy, they aren’t enjoying the heat and most of the fruit has dropped. My pear tree though, would usually be threadbare about now, but this year does actually have quite a few pears growing, fingers crossed. The raspberries are doing ok, but need thinned out, the blackcurrants are fabulous, my other apple tree is doing ok but the star of the show is my fig plant.

For years this did nothing (after somebody pruned it) so I just left it to it’s own, very straggly, devices. Now apparently figs produce more fruit when they are stressed – so very helpfully my dogs stressed it out and then some. Could I keep them away from the plant – no. Every time I looked out the window they were chewing on it.

Then it produced two figs last year, I was delighted. This year I have twelve figs, growing away, outside in Northern Ireland – I am thrilled. I love figs

Figs growing in a pot against a sunny wall, there are three figs beginning to grow
I am so proud of these figs!

So thats us up to speed with where I am in the garden/plot; from now on it’s a case of keeping up with the watering, and weeding. Oh, yes and continuing to net all the soft fruit off.

Anyone else growing anything?

43 comments

    • Lol! Close up photographs hide the overall unruly effect. I may be rubbish at melons, I don’t know yet, but it has flowered, and that’s a start.
      I am rubbish with aubergine and peppers, even if someone else starts them off!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. When we went onto a smaller section I espaliered our fruit trees along the fence, had raised gardens and grew vegetables among some flowers. Basically I had turned the whole area around the house into an edible garden. Hedges were fruit bushes or herbs. I love your garden photos, and enjoy looking at and caring for others. Maybe one day we will get a smallish garden to grow a few things in. In the meantime, keep posting 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Aw that’s cool. There is so much I don’t know, that I feel a bit of a fraud sometimes. I’m definitely not posting as an expert lol! But I enjoy working with plants, I find it very grounding mentally, and it’s good watching things grow.

      I’m touched that you like the posts xxx

      Like

      • You are doing well Sonia. I must admit I do have a green thumb and love gardening or I used to enjoy creating them than maintaining them. People used to joke about being taking over a reserve we were living next door too 🤣 xx

        Liked by 1 person

      • Wow! There’d Be a lot of work in that – and yet I suspect you would have nailed it 🙂 the apples in the garden might be beyond espaling but the new trees on the plot are young and perfect. If I’m brave I may try it 😀

        Like

  2. Oh, what a bounty you have this year! We have some of the same things: rhubarb, raspberries and strawberries. I have plums, herbs, lettuce and spinach mostly but the heat last month has sent quite a bit to bolting. I have heard of the 3 sisters, too, and can’t wait to see how that works out for you!

    Liked by 3 people

    • Yeah, there is a fair bit going on. I hope to have plums next year. The main thing this year will be watering, which is unheard of! The hosepipe ban will make things a lot more work, I’m glad everything is as far on as it is 🙂
      The sweet corn is looking very healthy at the moment, I just wish I had planted more.

      Liked by 1 person

    • It’s not too bad. I let the raspberries spread too much, I need to take a good few out, but I can replant them on the plot. The older cherry tree worries me more as I have limited options with it, but it isn’t enjoying being contained. I need to find some way of getting it in the ground before it dies.

      Like

  3. I grow sweetcorn, so I’m very interested in the three sisters idea. Do let us know how that works out.

    My potatoes are also flowering. It’s the first year I’ve tried a raised bed for them. The runner beans are doing well, despite the aphids, but the artichoke is overrun. I don’t think it’s quite got over a warm December when it produced one artichoke and it’s been very late in producing anything this year. The courgettes are doing well, as are the cucumbers, leeks, tomatoes and beetroots. The peas want water. The gooseberries are almost ripe. My new thing this year is aubergines and two of my plants have flowers. Like you, I garden on clay, although it’s more like dust at the moment.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I have dug a lot of organic material into the soil to help break it up, and I have been much better this year at watering regularly, pretty much doing it every other day – so those two things have helped enormously. Hopefully it will pay off now with the water shortage.

      I took the evil gooseberry up to the allotment and replanted it, but it has been stripped of all leaves (it never had any fruit) by caterpillars.
      My garden is full of sparrows and thrushes, but the allotment has far more birds – particularly tits which seem to be fond of a nice caterpillar, so I’m hopeful it will be a good move.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Gooseberries do seem to be rather vulnerable. I gave mine a good prune last year, so I think they’re a little happier, although some very strange looking shoots have appeared.

        Liked by 1 person

      • This bush is on its last chance. Either it gets its act together next year and produces a bountiful crop or it gets yinged into the hedge to fend for itself.
        It has vicious thorns that have stabbed me too many times. From now on it either plays nice or it can bugger off 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’ve taken a more conciliatory approach to mine. The area above the roots is covered with tiles so that the chickens can’t scratch at them. Gooseberries don’t like having their roots disturbed. I also net them fairly early on, which keeps butterflies and birds from them. Unfortunately, they’ve shot through the nets this year, so there will be some unscheduled pruning when they’re removed.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I used to garden on my balcony. I moved just over three years ago now into a real house! I have tomatoes, salad greens herbs, kale and one rather oversized marrow plant. And all sorts of edible flowers (nasturtiums, marigolds, borage, lavender) because in addition to making the salads more interesting they look pretty in food photography!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Absolutely! Get some cornflowers grown, that bright electric blue is amazing against chocolate frosting – as my son’s would tell you. They remember exactly the slice of cake they had last year because of how amazing it looked.

      Like

  5. Wow your garden is looking fab! I don’t have a very large garden but have attempted to grow a few things in the past. Home grown tomatoes are my absolute favourite. One year we couldn’t keep up with eating them so made a tasty chilli jam at the end. Yum.

    Liked by 2 people

    • My garden is tiny it’s about 4m x 4m with a raised bed running down one side. Everything else is in pots. I just cram a load in, but I think I want some more flowers next year, I might treat myself to a lilac bush, it will attract more bees to help pollination.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Aw you are a star! 🙏 thank you, I’m glad you enjoyed it. I find I need time outdoors to give me space in my head, but my goodness it’s backbreaking sometimes. There’ll come a time when it’s too much. :/

      Liked by 1 person

    • It helps. I wouldn’t say I was that great but I enjoy tinkering around. I could live without hairy strawberries though lol!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment